I am in the middle of reading a book by Michael Baisden and again it reminds me of the words we speak to one another. What are the words which you speak to others and even to yourself?

Did you know that there’s a proverbs in the Bible that says; “Death and Life are in the power of the tongue and they that love it shall eat the fruit…” Another proverb says; “…as a man thinks in his heart, so is he.”

The first time I had read these verses, I couldn’t believe it; they had resonated with me so strongly because I was the example of those verses. To think that words have the power to either kill you or bring life to a person; sounds like a strange thing doesn’t it, but it’s true and as you’re reading this, you may be able to resonate with this also.

Since I was a child; every time I had an idea and was excited about it, I was laughed at by my parents and was told that I couldn’t do it.

I was raised to believe that they were ALWAYS right and that I must ALWAYS listen to them and yes I did just that, unknowing that they were planting seeds of doubt and dis-believe within my spirit, not on purpose mind you.

When I was in my late teens/early twenties, the tables turned. Now I was the one who was speaking the self-doubt. Yes! I would have a thought or an idea in my mind. I’d get very excited about it but as soon as I got excited, my then reality would hit me and remind me that I couldn’t do it and so I told myself to forget it and did just that. This would happen over and over until one day, I realised I kept speaking myself out of executing my ideas. I had to ask myself why I did this and upon reflection, the light bulb switched on.

Now I was aware of this, I had to change the way I think of myself, what I say to myself and what I believed about myself.

This wasn’t an easy thing to break out of, in fact I’m still working on it to this day but the great thing about working on yourself is that eventually you will become that better person more and more each day.

If you are someone that is in the habit of speaking negative words to yourself or to others, ask yourself why. Try and break the habit. You can do this by spending time with yourself and speak positive words to yourself. Visualise yourself as the person you really know you should be and begin to speak words of love towards yourself and towards others. Also if your environment is mostly negative, find a way to separate yourself from it or at least spend a lot less time from that type of environment. In time, you’ll begin to see a change within yourself.

